The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company supports that the share for advertising in budget allocation should be increased based on the increasing number of positive review about their specific movies despite the reduction in movie-goers for Super Screen-produced movies as per the recent report of previous year, by the firm's marketing department. This conclusion is not valid due to several unwarranted reasons such as less number of movies actually produced by the company in the previous year, correlating reviews with quality of movies, allocating greater share of budget would mean increase in viewership audience.

Primarily, what were the total number of movies released/produced by the company during the previous year. Further, what was the actual percentage of the viewers in the previous year compared to its yesteryears. This would give the advertising director additional data such as actual percentage decrease in viewership in the reported year and the total films published by the company allowing the director to actually pinpoint the problem and necessary steps would be then taken to mitigate it. Further it might also be possible that the percent increase in reviews about the specific Super Screen movie in diminutive.

Secondly, quality is a subjective term and would humans are fickle minded, at one moment they would be in the favour of the movie and the other they would hate the movie as much as they had previously liked it. Thus, the correlation of reviews with quality of the movie has no solid grounds. What is the actual numbers of good and bad reviews and what was the outlook (percentage-wise) of all the reviews before the spike. Were positive reviews greater in number than the negative reviews or was it vice-versa? The answers and figures provided would then give a furthermore detail and dimension to the decision making process.

Even if all of the above discussed points are to be accounted for, another unwarranted assumption is made that allocating higher budget would turn out in the favour of the company by increasing its viewership. What is the actual share of budget of marketing allotted to "Reviews"? Despite the efforts made by the marketing team, if the quality does not appeal to the viewers then there would be a definite pale response and would lead to decrease in the viewership.

To sum it up, there are several questions such as previous year statistics for which if answers are provided backed with data and figures would enable the advertising director of the production company to wisely and effectively take decision in the favour of their company which would result in increase of viewership for their movies.