The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends that the company should allocate a higher portion of its budget for advertisements of the movies in order to reach out to the prospective viewers. The advertising director concludes from a report from the marketing department that the reason for failure of their movies last year was lack of awareness among the public that good quality movies are available. However, while stating this argument, the advertising director should consider all the possibilities that weaken his stance.

The low numbers indicated by the report about the viewership of last year's movies may have been due to reasons other than lack of advertising. It is possible that the release dates of Super Screen movies clashed with the release dates of some other movies. This could cause a serious competition for audience. More public could be drawn to watch the other movie because it featured the popular actor who is loved by everyone. It is also a possibility that somehow the spoilers of Super Screen movies were disseminated, leading to a decrease in curiosity among the prospective viewers and ultimately lesser viewership. If all or any of these possibilities hold true, spending more money on advertisement will not benefit the company.

The percentage increased of positive reviews about Super Screen movies is not stated. This information is insufficient as one can not form any conclusions. It is possible that a Super Screen Movie would normally get two appreciative reviews out of ten total reviews and only last year the movie would have received three positive ones instead. These statistics do not imply that the quality of the movies are good or have improved. The report should quantify the increase in positive reviews encountered in the past year as compared to a normal scenario. This will help analyse whether it is important to increase advertising budget and/or whether this would result in more audience.

The arguement, as proposed, abounds in gaps due to insufficient and inadequate evidences. The advertising director has drawn conclusions based on a plethora of assumptions that require justification. The information presented in the argument does not hold enough credibility to consider his recommendation.