The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument put forth by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company that more of the budget should be allocated to reaching the public through advertising has many flaws. It claims that since the percentage of positive reviews about specific movies produced by their company has increased but fewer people attended the movie implies that the problem lies not with the quality of the movies but with the public's lack of awareness and hence, want to increase the money spent on advertising to reach the public next year.

The argument does not provide the necessary evidences to support these claims. The fact that fewer people are attending the movies need not imply that they are not aware of it but could be because the people prefer to watch movies from their homes rather than driving to theaters that could be far. It could also be due to the fact that the pirating rates of movies have increased the past year. A survey that tells us that people prefer watching movies at home through streaming platforms would weaken the argument and the company would have to spend to stream their films on these platforms to increase revenue rather than spending on advertising. Finding out the pirating statistics of movies can also help the company make a better claim.

It also claims that the percentage of positive reviews about specific movies produced by their company has increased and so the quality of their movies are good. The positive reviews could be due to various other reasons. Maybe the storyline of the movie is bad but the cast is very popular which influences these reviews. Analysing the specifics of each review would give us a better idea as to what the viewers liked about the film.

This claim is also ambiguous as we dont know if all those that watched the movie gave their reviews. Only those who thought the film was good would have given their reviews and those that didnt wouldnt have given a review. A proper survey that takes the reviews of all those that watched the movie will give us a better idea. If it is found that most of the people that watched the movie actually had positive feedback about the same, it would strengthen the argument and so more money can be spent on advertising.

Thus, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company fails to make a convincing claim that allocating a greater share of their budget on advertising to reach the public would increase their viewership and revenue next year.