"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The above statement brings into question whether the best way for a society to prepare its youth for leadership in government or any other field for that matter is by instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition. Undoubtably, one performs better with healthy competition as the motivation to do better is more with competition than without. But it fails to consider the multifold advantages that come with cooperating with one and other. Thus, I agree with the statement that the best way to prepare youth for leadership positions is by instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition.

The first obvious advantage is that a positive cooperation ensures that positive growth in one sector of the industry implies a positive growth in the other sectors of the same industry. This is true since all the leaders of their particular sector cooperate and make decisions that are for the collective good of all. We can take the example of the technology giant Infosys to further prove our point. Here, the leaders of each sector of the company like - technology, innovation, marketing and management as well as the CEO, all work collectively in cohesion with one and other to ensure the primary goal, that is, growing the company is met. This is shown in their huge success since its inception.

Another point to consider is that, in most success stories of industries, a large group of people are consulted to make major decisions. This proves that more the people involved, the more ideas and healthy discussions take place. This can be only done by instilling a sense of cooperation in the youth.

Instilling a sense of competition could also give way for individuals to get ahead through unfair means and this is detrimental to society as a whole.

While we cannot deny that individuals perform better given healthy competition as they have more motivation, and this could give us better results in the immediate future, the question to be asked here is how one would define "healthy" and how society can maintain that notion. We must also consider if short term benefits are better than long term goals for a society.

Thus, instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition amongst the youth of a society is the best way to prepare them for leadership positions in all fields.