The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

The author states that Super Screen Movie Production Company should increase their budget for marketing and advertising to be able to reach more people and gain profits. This is based on certain evidence provided by the author regarding increase in the number of positive reviews for the movies and lack of public awareness about the good quality movies. However, the argument is based on certain assumptions which make the conclusion nonpersuasive. The author should answer the following questions and provide better evidences for the argument to be cogent.

Firstly, the author fails to answer what kind of movies got positive reviews and what is the percentage of increase in positive reviews. There is no information about the statistics for positive reviews and also for the reduced number of movie-goers for these Super Screen produced movies. Maybe, there are only positive reviews for specific genres of movies like comedy or romance. People prefer to watch these light-hearted movies more than crime thrillers or suspense movies. Super Screen produced movies may be more of the latter kind, and only a few are comedy or romance movies. Moreover, it may be that the number of people giving reviews has increased by let's say 1000. If looked at independently then 1000 is a big number, but if the number of movie-goers is 1000000 then a thousand is a very small increase. Therefore, it becomes a weak argument.

Secondly, what evidence is there that proves the contents are not reaching prospective viewers? It may happen that the reviews are reaching all the prospective viewers but these reviews are not strong enough to make the prospective viewer watch the movie. The reviews might be saying for instance, "It is a good movie, but a one-time watch and too long". This review seems like a good positive review but it is not convincing enough to make others watch the movie. They might rather prefer to watch other movies which have better reviews or wait for the movie to come on OTT sites like Netflix.

Finally, what makes it evident that an increase in budget for advertising will lead to an increase in viewers? It may be that the movies are not well written, or not well directed or not well acted. A success of movie depends on various other factors. It may be that the movie has an actor who does not have a good reputation in public, who is involved in corruption or malpractices. People might not want to watch movies of such person. It also might be that the actors are good but the dialogue writing and direction and VFX are not good enough, then the viewers would not watch the movie just for the sake of actor. Therefore, again the argument becomes weak and does not hold water.

As of right now, the author's argument is weak and has flaws.Therefore, for the argument to be conducive, the author should provide more evidence that answer the questions above.