"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the advertising director, the Super Screen should allocate more budget for advertising of their movies. However, before considering this perfuctory recommendation, following questions should be answered in order to get a better idea of the problem.

Was there any other reasons for such low quantity of people watching this movie last year? It is possible that an economic crisis would have occured part year due to which the public were less interested to spend their money in leisure activities like this. Likewise, maybe a pandemic occured during this time which led very few people to roam in public places like movie theatres due to health concerns. If any of the above assumptions to the question is true then the director's recommendation does not hold water.

Does the movies produced by Super-Screen concentrate on a wider audience? If movies focus on a small amount of public then only those people would be interested to watch the movie. It is highly possible that some movies were for couples while some focussed on just children and some for teenage audience. Thus, even if the positive reviews were reached to most public still mostly the interested audience would watch the movie and so the less number of audience. Thus, if the above assumption is the answer to the question then the recommendation is undermined.

Does the Company have enough money to spend on advertising? If the movie quality is compromised in order to make budget for advertising then the movie will be a big flop even if the a wider public is aware about it. So the question needs to be answered in order to analyse the budget otherwise this recommedation is not a good idea.

Thus, only after the above questions are answered, the Super Screen Movie Production Company should analyse the problem meticulously in order to make the decision. Otherwise there is a good chance the audience demands would not be met and the company will face harmful losses.