The following is taken from a memo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing

department, during the past year, fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the-

quality of our movies but with the public's lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions

would need to be answered in order to decide whether

the recommendation and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

The performance of movies and success of a production company are dependent on a varity of factors. The memo talks about the company performing poorly and states some reason as to why it might be happening but in stating them, they leave a lot of questions unanswered like how did they analyse this pattern and if they took into account various factors that don't depend on public that could perhaps justify the declining performance of the company.

First question that needs to be looked at and answered is that as compared to last year, how many more/less movies did the company produce? If the quantity of movies were far lesser then it's no rocket science to understand why they performed poorly over the last year as number of movies directly affect the earnings.

Second, again with regards to poor performance, success of a movie is perhaps dependent mostly upon the cast of the movie. So the company needs to look into the cast selection and whether the cast of the movie acted well in the movies they produced. Another important factor to consider would be the popularity of the cast involved. The more popular the actors in the movie are, the more it will earn. It's basically the idea behind all successful Bollywood movies but even when it comes to Hollywood, Avengers: Infinity War - most successful movie of 2018, was hugely successful mainly because of its star-studded cast.

Assuming the above mentioned points were taken care of by the company, now comes the question pertaining to reviews. The issues with judging a movie by its reviews are that first, you have to look at the total number of reviews as sample size is of utmost importance when doing a survey. There's a difference between having 70% positive reviews in 200 total reviews and 70% positive reviews in 2000 reviews. So, the increase in percentage of positive reviews could easily be due to reduction in total number of reviews.

Now, assuming the number of reviews are indeed lesser than the movies made by the company earlier, this needs to be addressed and analysed. The company simply assumes quality of their movies are good enough but the reduction in number of reviews is a testament to the reduction in quality itself. Hence, this needs to be loked into by the company and double-check that the quality of movie production is indeed in alignment with what movie goers expect from the company.

Lastly, with regards to increasing budget of advertising, while increasing advertising mostly helps, the company needs to ask itself the target audience of the movie they will promote. This will ensure maximum success as it is futile to promote a movie to an audience that is not interested in watching it in the first place.

If all of the above questions and considerations are taken into account, there is no reason why the company won't be able to bounce back and even increase their revenue.