"Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level."

The text presented assumes a lot of things without delving deeply into what is actually causing all the adverse effects.

Firstly, the news channel has seen a lot more complaints with regards to weather and local news lately, even though the air-time for it has reduced. This could be occuring for a variety of factors other than reduction of air-time. One that pops up immediately is that this increase in nuber of complaints could be due to negligence on the part of the news channel. That is, due to the reduction of air-time for this news, the channel might not be interested in delivering high-quality and verified weather news as that is something that is a very small part of the late-night news program hence not much profitable. Also, the local news, by definition should be relevant to the local people but due to their negligence and lack of effort invested in it, most of it might be irrelevant for the locals as the channel might've even stopped considering how a particular local news piece will affect the local population.

Secondly, with regards to reduction in advertisment revenue due to cancellation of contracts by local businesses, it could be directly linked to the point stated above. As, the channel distances itself from the local news, by not even bothering to check the relevance of a local news piece, the local businesses might feel that the channel is alienating itself from the area and trying to reach a wider audience which won't benefit their business as it is improbable that people from different parts of a coutry will go to a local business just because of an ad. In addition to this, businesses might also feel that due to reduction in quality of local news and more complaints with regards to it, the local audience have migrated to other news channels and hence they must follow suit as that would be beneficial for their business as well.

Thirdly, the last sentence states that they will increase the air-time for local news and weather news, while it seems logically correct that this could be one of the ways to gain back their viwership and revenue, as earlier they used to fare well by doing it, it would be more beneficial for them to actually guage why the comaplints are coming in, in the first place. If it is solely related to the air-time then it seems the only way to go ahead would be to increase air-time but if the complaints are with regards to errors in weather news or low-qulaity, irrelevant local news, it would be much more logically sound for the channel to increase efforts in increasing the quality of this content rather than air-time as that would benefit them in 2 ways - Decrease in local complaints which most likely will lead to increase in business revenue as well as gaining a nation wide audience due to airing national news.

Lastly, there is really no need for national, local and weather news to be clubbed into one news program. They could create entirely different news programs, one program for national news and another program for local and weather news. This would most likely achieve all the objectives of the news channel - Increasing national viewership, Making locals happy by having a dedicated progra for local news and weather news and hence increasing local viewership which will the directly relate to increased business contracts as it would be profitable for local businesses due to more exposure of their add to all audiences.