The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability.

The author of this appeal argues that a company called Furniture Depot has increased its sales

due to employing an internet advertising company to help. Using advertising internet services

can indeed increase the profitability of a company, but in this case the author has based his

conclusion on assumptions that clearly cannot be stated as warranted.

To begin with, the author states that Furniture Depot had an increase in annual sales by 10

percent. While this may be true, it is wrong to conclude that using the services of an internet

company is the only reason for progress. Maybe Furniture Depot has improved the quality of its

products or added several new locations to the franchise, which then led to an increase in

sales. If these assumptions would prove to be true, the argument could easily fall apart.

Furthermore, the author is talking about this years totals. What is valid for t year does not have

to be applicable for the next one. The conclusion about Furniture Depos success is based on

the assumption that what was true in the past must also be true in the present or future. But it is

very likely that the company will suffer a loss next year or have the same sale total as this year.

We just do not know what is going to happen. Thus, it is wrong to conclude that Furniture Depot

will continue to flourish thanks to advertising.

Finally, the author of this appeal to businesses is using vague langue in an attempt to sound

more convincing. We only know that Furniture Depot has increased the annual sale total by 10

percent, but we do not know the exact numbers. For example, if the company has sold 10

pieces of furniture one year and 11 pieces in the following year, that would represent an

increase of 10 percent, but in reality that is just one more piece of furniture. Also, the term

increased profitability does not have much sence without listing the numbers that would show

the profit change.

This argument is rife with holes and assumptions. The line of thought should be strengthened

by using exact numbers and providing more details about Furniture Depots sales. Also, it would

be helpful to mention another example of a client that has increased annual sales since using

the services of the internet advertising company.