Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

The author of this argument is observing the number of Leeville residents who suffer from stress-related health issues, compared to the number of residents of a nearby large city called Masonton, who have the same problem. The author is citing the facts that Leeville residents take fewer sick days off and the number of workers with stress-related illness diagnosis is much lower. His conclusion is that stated differences are due to relaxed pace of life in Leeville. While living in smaller, relaxed environment certainly has many benefits compared to a life in a face-paced city, this line of reasoning is rife with holes and assumptions, that we will discuss below.

To begin with, the author does not offer an insight in the exact number of sick days that Leeville and Masonton residents take. The term fewer is vague and can mean just two or three days less. If Leeville workers would take just two days fewer than workers from the nearby town, this data would not be significant enough to draw a conclusion. Also, the author does not mention any time frame. Is he talking about number of absences per week, month or year? If a small number of Leeville workers were absent from their jobs due to stress in the last week, that does not mean that in the upcoming week their number will not be bigger than the number of stressed out and absent Masonton workers.

Furthermore, we do not know why exactly the number of stress-related illness diagnosis is smaller in Leeville than in Masonton. The line of thought does not offer any explanations. Maybe Masonton residents do not like to visit hospitals so much, or maybe Masonton doctors are not skilled enough to recogniye symptoms of stress-related illnesses and diagnoye them. If some of these explanations would hold true, the argument could easily fall apart.

Lastly, apropos the stated positive relation between health and the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville, it is clearly based on an assumption that Leeville residents are healthier than Masonton residents. However, the author is only offering facts about stress-related issues, without mentioning any other health problems. If the number of Leeville workers who suffer from arthritis and pneumonia would be much higher than the number of Masonton workers with same issues, than it would be wrong to conclude that life in Leeville has health benefits. If the conclusion is wrong, the argument is breaking apart.

Considering above stated, the author needs to strengthen his argument with more evidence for health benefits of living in Leeville.