To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The prompt states that it is necessary to study major cities of certain country in order to understand the most important characteristics of its society. The best way to get to know characteristics of a society is through studying its government, art and culture, and economy. Since all political, cultural and economical institutions are located in major cities, it is true that one can not understand a society without getting to know these cities.

For example, a tourist from Asia who wants to learn more about United States should not miss a chance to visit Washington. This is where all the important political decisions that affect the entire society are taking place. These decisions shape the lives of ordinary people, so in order to understand why Americans, for example, express tolerance for gay couples, one should first find out what decisions has White House made regarding this field.

Secondly, two crucial aspects of a society are its culture and art. Is it possible to get a complete picture of France without visiting Paris and embracing the unique greatness of Eifel Tower and Louvre? The answer is no. In a small village 200 miles from the capital a visitor could not see the great Mona Lisa, a work of art that millions of French citizens consider a part of their own identity. Moreover, in order to find out what kind of music is popular among Frenchmen, a curious visitor should not buy a ticket for some small town, but for Paris, the home of few dozens of concert halls.

Lastly, as economy holds for a major characteristic of a society, it is valuable to study economical institutions of a country, that are once again located in major cities. National Bank of Serbia, the countries most powerful financial institution, can be found in its capital, Belgrade. All the important transactions take place in this city. One could argue that a good way of getting to know Serbs attitude towards money would be heading to a local market in some small village. Even if that is true, Belgrade has got its own markets where a curious visitor could see the same thing.

Indeed, wanting to know important characteristics of a society without studying its major cities would be like wanting to explore Russian literature and not reading works of Tolstoy and Dostoyevski. Thus, the argument stated is not true.