Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The author of this argument states that the recent decline in arctic deer populations is a direct result of their unability to follow the old migration pattern, which included moving over ice from island to island in Canadas artic region, searching for food. While the pattern abandoning statement may be true, there are also some other possible explanations for the decline in animal populations. We need several missing evidence in order to properly evaluate this argument.

First, we need to question the assumption that global warming trends and ice melting are the most important factor that led to dying of arctic deer. The author does not offer any evidence for this statement. If we could not find evidence that this assumption is true, we cannot name ice melting as the reason for worrying trend. Moreover, if there is some evidence that, for example, the number of hunters who kill arctic deer has tripled compared to last month, we could easily conclude that hunting is another major factor that contributes to artic deer endangerment.

Furthermore, the author does not explain to what extent has the sea ice melted and, more importantly, does not offer evidence that melting of sea ice is forcing arctic deer to change their migration patterns. If we could prove that there is still some ice left in Canadas artic regions and that animals are still capable of moving over these small blocks of ice searching for food, the argument would fall apart.

Lastly, the author of the statement is assuming that deer have enough plants on which they feed. This may or may not be true. We just do not know, because the author does not offer any evidence for his assumption. If we could find the evidence that, for example, major fires have destroyed large fields of grass that deer eat, declinement in food supplies would become one of the obvious reasons for dying of the deer. Thus, the argument would once again be unwarranted.

The author of this argument has based his conclusion on a number of assumptions that are likely to be wrong. In order to strengthen the argument, he needs to question other factors that led to a decline in deer population and also offer evidence that deer are truly unable to follow their migration patterns.