The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the part of the application above, it is stated that a jazz music club in Monroe will be tremendously profitable enterprise. This conclusion is reached by observing large number of people attending annual jazz festival last summer, ’Jazz Nightly’ being the highest-rated radio program in Monroe, availability of several well-known jazz musician and nearest jazz club being 65 miles away from Monroe. However, before this conclusion can be properly, special evidences are required.

First of all, People are more likely to visit annual festival. In other words, the festival occurring annually is expected to be crowded then the event that occurs often. There is possibility that the annual jazz festival last summer was famous since it occurred once a year. However, this is possible that during the festival there was holiday of most of the people. If either of the case is true then the conclusion drawn is severely weakened.

Secondly, The skill of the musician living there is unknown. In other words, are the well-known jazz musician of the place are skilled enough to perform on the club. There is possibility that they are unwilling to perform on the club as a regular worker since they are well-known and have to travel for their work. In that case musicians should be hired from other places which may result costly. However, this is possible that the well-known musicians living there have high pay so that may result in too much expense for the club.

Similarly, the amount of $1000 per yearly many not be profitable amount for the club. Even if people are likely to enjoy jazz music and we managed to onboard local well-known musicians we are not sure that $1000 annually per person will make our club profitable. There is possibility that the expense of the club exceed the annual spend per person.

In the conclusion, as above mentioned, is considerably flawed due to too many unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence then the conclusion can be further discussed.