The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the group of developers in the city Monroe jazz music club would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. But it quite fallacious because in the statement they have given 3 to 5 incorrect conclusions. Jazz music which airs at every weeknight at 7 p.m. it concludes that generally people used to 6 to 7 p.m. so argument is quite illogical and irrational based on assumptions.

Firstly, Jazz music has highest-rated radio program in Monroe. People used to listen the music in radio itself they cannot afford to come 65 miles away from the city. So, people won’t waste time and expenditure by going 65k.m from city. By considering these factors of the developers stated argument is incorrect.

Secondly, 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. But it happens only once in a year in summer only rest of the year it won’t happen. Moreover, fans spend $1000 per year on jazz entertainment but a few fans are from Monroe but remaining is from world. So it is another flaw from the argument.

Moreover, well know musician stay in the city itself only. So fans can conduct a music band in their city only. If people are interested in music they can afford to buy a music instrument and they can learn the music. So the small business developers can’t develop their business.

After all these observations, we can conclude that it might be a wrong statement. After considering all the factors can give the evidence. So the argument is fallacious and quite weak . So the developers can’t improve their business.