The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given argument to establish a jazz club in Monroe is flawed. Mainly because it assumes that the people of Monroe prefer jazz music over other generes of music.

The argument states that over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, however, fails to talk about how many people from Monroe attended the festival. It is possible that the mayor of Monroe organizes the annual jazz festival to increase tourism in the town and most of the people came to Monroe from nearby towns in order to attend the festival. Had the argument stated that most of the people in attendence lived in Monroe, then the argument would hold.

The application also mentions that Jazz Nightly is the highest rated radio program. However air time of the radio show is not mentioned. Since it airs on weekdays, it is normal for people returning back from office to turn on radio, and Jazz nightly might be the only radio show on air at the time most people commute back to work.

Another reason, why the argument does not hold is because it fails to distinguish Monroe's economic state from the rest of the nation. If there is huge unemployment in Monroe compared to the rest of the nation, the people of Monroe would prefer spending their money on groceries or necessities rather than spending $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment.

Because the argument makes several unwanted and unecessary assumption, it fails to make a convincing case that a new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise.