Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Intially, the argument made by the author in the text above, seems plausible as the links perpetuated between the two sides of the spectrum, not consuming green tea to consuming great quantities of it, reveals the idea that drinking green tea in moderation is the most effective way of taking advantage of the drink. Once the argument is inspected, many questions arise regarding the reliability of other assumptions made through the text. Ultimately, when presented with scrutiny the argument is flawed unless data is presented to support it.

To begin, the main point made is that green tea is good for the consumer, therefore many individuals choose to consume high quantities, to obtain greater benefits. No data is provided to substantiate why green tea is good for people. It is said that it can help as a powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting tool, but what evidence is there of this actually being the case? It contrasts to another point later on in the argument, as it is said that high quantities of green tea can have negative effects. Moreover, no mention is made that perhaps the reason why people seek to drink it, is because they enjoy the taste. This seems like a simple explanation as to why people like to imbibe the tea.

Moving on to another example of lack of evidence. The argument says that high quantities of green tea can have similar effects to those of chronic coffee drinking. It would be wonderful if data was provided to back up this point, but its implied that we should believe the argument only because a 'study' was made in the past. We don't know who did it and the process of the study to determine its validity. Nonetheless, its been known that consuming large amounts of anything can be detrimental to our health. Even water in great amounts can be bad for our bodies. Perhaps this simple example if used in the text could prove to be more effective than to mention the result of a study and no more information about it.

Lastly, the entire argument only suggests an issue which can be studied further. The hypothesis could be to explore the effects of small, medium and large consumption of green tea. This should have been performed before the assumptions were made by the author. That way, he would have all the tools and the evidence necessary to maintain rationally the position taken in the text above. Unless this study is fully exercised, the argument will remain an idea that has not been proven true.

It is suggested that drinking green tea can be good for consumers, but if imbibed in large quantities, could have negative effects as well. No evidence is provided to maintain the positions in the argument, and only one coherent idea can come out of this: a study should be done to prove if the idea is correct. The author fails to see this point and instead makes the assumption that moderation is the best way to deal with this dilemma. If the study were to be completed in a proper manner, then the author would have full credentials to make an assertion regarding this subject. As it stands, that is not the case.