"Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The notion that we can learn more from those individuals whose views we share rather than from those whose views contradict our own due to the stress of the disagreement inhibiting learning, is be easily challenged. arguments with those who hold disparate perspectives will forces us to find a way to completely explain the point, and as a consequence the person will understand if the belief is fundamentally correct.

Despite not having a positive feeling when someone challenges your personal views, however this forces the individual to dissect their own thoughts. In turn, this allows the individual to learn a couple of things about himself such as the reasoning behind the belief held, and how to properly argue a point against someone else. During my college years, my roommate was an atheist, and we had several challenging conversations. I would argue why I believed in god, and he would argue against the idea of god's existence. Ultimately, I decided to put myself in his position and understood the validity of his argument. So, I learned how to defend my argument, and also that my beliefs are not absolute.

Secondly, learning from people with opposing views will enable individuals to grow and develop. Exercising critical thinking and having an open mind is a great skill to have. At my job, I had a supervisor who firmly believed everything he did was right. From his managing style, to the way he talked to his subordinates, he couldn't do anything wrong. As my previous college experience had taught me, I was able to argue with him and pinpoint the fallacies in his logic. I considered this to be therapy for him because over time, he understood that even with the best of intentions, no one is perfect. Not only that, he was able to sympathize with those individuals whom he firmly disagreed with.

On the other side of this argument, someone could point that individuals who suffer from anxiety may not learn because of the stress of learning from diverging ideas. this is not palatable because more harm is done to those individuals by letting them stay inside a bubble. it will not assuage the anxiety issue. In this specific case, one could try to take small steps to deal with the situation, but preventing them from stepping outside of the comfort zone is simply unacceptable.

In conclusion, we learn more from those whose beliefs don't align with ours as opposed to those who do. As it forces the individual to challenge their beliefs and to fully understand why they hold that idea. As a result, it leads to personal growth, open mindedness and a deeper understanding of alternating perspectives and fallacies.