he following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Book claims that opening of a cafe would help in expanding its line of business by proliferating the customer base which would allow the Monarch Book to give a tough competition to the Regal Books.The recommendation carries a train of fallacies and the assumptions on which such a decision is being made is inadequate.

Firstly Monarch need to do a bit of research work on whether it would be able to retain its customer base through this new business or not.It has been stated that the Monarch Book is well known in the business of selling books and proudly holds a strong and a large customer base which shows that Monarch has been very successful in fulfilling the requirements of its variegated customers.But taking a decision to open a cafe based on its customer base and cultivating an expectation that it would be able to run its cafe business smoothly as that of his book selling one is irrelevant.Its baseless to assume that because it holds a strong base in its book selling business, it would also be blooming its cafe business.There are many real time evidences that can prove that such similar indecisiveness has caused the downfall of many majestic businesses. But it may be likely that Monarch might also do outstanding cafe business surpassing its indigenous book selling business but its more risky because its more possible that it would be concentrating in its new cafe business and as a result might show negligence in its old book selling business and if it fails to live up to its expectation then it may lose its original large customer base and tan its 20 years of recognition.

Secondly the board is making a hasty and an unfair decision in putting up a cafe by removing its children section based on the national census which says that the under 10 group is declining.Its acutely a fallacy assumption because no where it has been mentioned that the locality where the business is burgeoning for last 20 years has shown a decline in the number of children.It should be kept in mind that the national census is being made on a national scale rather than being a local one.The Monarch should instead evaluate the same from percentage of children books being sold out at its store because if it incurs large part of its profit from the selling of children books then merely closing its section because of the census would be a great mistake which might grandly hamper its business.

Third its being mentioned that the Monarch is aiming to compete with the Regal books which has newly opened its cafe.This shows that Monarch is hastily taking a decision to give a tough competition to Regal Books.The arguments mentions that Regal Books has newly opened its cafe but nowhere it has been mentioned how well is Regal doing with its cafe business apart from its book selling business.It might be possible that Regal is gradually decreasing its customer base and if this is the case then decision of competing with Regal would be an unnecessary one.Had the argument stated that Regal Book was equally prosperous in the line of selling books leveling Monarch Books and opening a cafe has elevated its business then this consideration could have seemed correct.

Thus it would be wise for Monarch to bolster its business by making a nation wide expansion of its business of selling book in which it is prospering instead of making any risky moves which might hijack its fame and business forever.