Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after rollerskating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment.Within this group of people,75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots were not wearing any protective clothing (helmets,knee pads,etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights,glow-in-dark wrist pads,etc.).Clearly,these statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment,rollerskaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

The author’s proposal to call for more investment into high-quality protective gear and reflective gear of roller-skating lovers offers an interesting argument but still defective. The statistic the author used as evidence implies three assumptions which require more explanation and will be extended in the following paragraph.

First of all, the author regarding only people going to the emergency room are the mass majority of the people suffered from the roller-skating accidents, which need more survey to illustrate. The hurt of roller-skating varies, and only people who feel immediate uneasy go to the emergency while others may discern their injury after many days and go to normal room to see doctors. If these people were not taken into account, the research result will be incomplete and incredulous.

Secondly, the statistic implies that either people who had not been wearing protective clothing or people who hadn’t been wearing light-reflecting material account for large proportion among those wounded. This argument, however, lacks accuracy. We can’t get access to the exact proportion of each of the two groups, which leads to misinterpretation such as there are only 1 percent of people without wearing light-reflecting gear and undercuts the reliability of this survey.

Finally, the author assumes that the reason for injuring is largely depend on the equipment while other aspects are not taken into consideration. To what extent the accidents are relative to the equipment? This question remains to be answer. If the equipment is only a negligible factor and the real reason is the lack of awareness to safety or else, then the argument will be implausible.

In conclusion, the author should examine the static applied to make sure the survey is comprehensive, accurate as well as reliable to make the argument more perfect. More detail should be elucidate to figure out whether people going to emergency is the major group, the exact proportion of people not wearing those two equipment and the real reason for the accidents.