The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

I partly agree with the statement above. Best idea means the idea that is extraordinary and cannot be come up with easily and will have the power to change the world or amaze the world in different fields such as art or science. While commonplace suggest routine and pedestrian which can always be seen in our daily life. It sounds weird to put these two words together, but tracing back the human history, it is plausible to large extent. And, there are also many exceptions that contradict this view. Only to combine two views can we find the path to the origin of human inspiration.

First of all, many influencial idea did come from the daily things. The universal law of life are hiding behind those things we are familiar with. The water are commonplace, while the mechanism of water dynamic can be apply to many field such as water energy station. An apple falling down from trees is the most common thing, but the gravity law behind it can measure how our planet move in universe.

Second, people who are passionate about the routine objects are more likely to come up with great ideas. Daily things, mean common while also mean negligible. Most of us tend to ignore the feature of the things we are always getting in touch with. While the innovative people who enthusiastically care about things around them can decern those feature and figure out what hide behind them. The artist Piccaso was famous for his reconstruction of daily things. In his painting, a person’s face was stretch like a two dimensional pattern which seems odd but interesting. The thorough observation and imagination of daily things account for his success.

However, commonplace also circumscribe people’s imagination. People living inside a cave would never get to know the beauty of sky. This also works for the people who are creative. Paying to many attention to the daily life will stem their imagination as well. The idea of marching to the space would never come from a person who have passionate interest in commonplace things, instead put forward by those who are keen on the starry night.

In conclusion, both commonplace things and uncommon things can be the inspiration of innovation. But this two seemingly different views have one feature in common that the enthusiasm is the radical motivation to creativeness. All we should do is to love our life and keep passionate to the field you love.