Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The suggested claim that humans are the main reason of the extinction of the various mammal species via too much hunting seems axiomatic at a glance. However, the author's argument relies heavily on gratuitous assumptions that calls for alternative explanations of the phenomena.

To begin with, the author conjectures that previous archaeological findings that indicate early humans' general tendency of reliance upon both fishing and hunting can be appropriately applied to the case of Kaliko Island. Nevertheless, the author does not cite any evidence regarding dates and discoveries the findings are based on, which means the author's claim is overgeneralization. It is entirely possible that the findings the author is referring to are outdated; also, it is not verified if a few samples from the findings can reflect the conditions of Kaliko Island. Humans resided in Kaliko Island might have primarily consumed vegetables and fruits contrary to the results of the cited findings. Without proper evidence, the alternate explanation might be accepted.

Second, the author refers to bones of fish as an evidence of hunting activities of humans of Kaliko. However, there is no evidence to manifest the exact cause of death of those fish. It could be due to severe earthquake, dramatic climate change, or just natural death. It is hasty to judge that humans killed those fish just by looking at discarded fish bones. Moreover, even if it turns out that humans have hunted them, this does not give any justification that humans would have hunted large mammals as well. It could be that humans were more accessible to water and not the forest area. The author needs to give more detailed information to reject alternative hypotheses.

Furthermore, the author cites findings of researchers, which are simple tools like stone knives, to corroborate the assertion. There is, nontheless, no evidence that those tools were used for hunting. Additionally, it seems far-fetched to suppose that those simple tools were utilized to kill large mammals. Those discovered tools may have been used for purpose of hunting small animals, carving woods, or cutting fruits. With the amount and depth of the information given, the findings hardly explains that those simple tools would have effectively slaughtered large mammals. Thus, the author should provide solid explanation to rebut the alternative opinions.

All in all, the author's contention is not valid, and alternative explanations seem more probable. To strengthen the argument, the author has to provide more in depth information regarding hunting culture of Kaliko Island, cause of death of discovered fish, and the exact purpose of simple tools.