Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion that some climate change or environmental actor has to be the reason for the extinction of large mammal species from the Kaliko islands seems a bit skeptical. it is entirely based on the fact that humans were incapable to hunt these huge mammals. As the author of this passage suggests the findings of numerous quantities of discarded fish bones points towards the conclusion that humans were more inclined towards hunting smaller preys, upto some extend, mammals of comparable size (with humans). But this alone does not imply that the extinction has nothing to do with human activity.

As we know humans always have the tendency to overdo things. Evidences have also been found proving that humans were hunting fish on a large scale, and that could also be the case for many other mammals of comparable size. So it would have been quite probable that the humans of that time hunted on such a large scale that it led the ecosystem to completely unbalanced state. The large mammals could have actually died because of shortage of food, thus making humans an indirect cause for their extinction.

Now it is quite a stong statement to make that a single reason was sufficient in itself to cause such a mass extinction, usually there are multiple reasons that contribute .One such theory can be that the humans, with their excessive huting disturbed the equilibria of the the ecosystem. humans killed some animals (or even plants) which appeared in the food chain of the giant mammals and thus pushed them to a situation of famine. And this might have increased the inter-species competition among those mammals also increasing the deaths due to fight among themselves. now in such a havoc any small perturbation in the climatic condition is bound have enough force to wipe out an entire species.