An international development organisation, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author's argument that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote the new type of millet to combat vitamin A deficiency is flawed.

First, we must consider if the new breed of millet has been tested to be safe for human consumption. Otherwise, it could have adverse side effects that are worse than the effects of vitamin A deficiency. Moreover, the new breed of millet may not have all the health benefits that the original breed of millet probably had. If this were true, the Tagus government should not look for a substitute for the old breed of millet. Instead, it can look for a supplement, that can be taken along with regular meals.

Moreover, the argument states that Tagus is an impoverished nation. This implies that the people in the nation of Tagus hardly have food to eat. Prior to developing a new breed of millet that is high in vitamin A, the international development organisation should have responded to mitigate poverty and basic needs like food and potable water instead.

The argument also states that while the new breed of millet is expensive, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. But, will the amount paid by the government incur all the charges that the farmers would have to bear? Moreover, the government of Tagus has to purchase the new variety of the millet from the international development organisation. Does the government has enough funds? Also, the people of Tagus may not readily adopt the new variety of millet because it tastes different than the old breed. Then, the government and the farmers would be at loss.

The argument can be strengthened if the author had considered the above issues. As it stands, the argument is flawed.