An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author argues that to combat the deficiency of Vitamin A in Tagus, the government has to do everything it can to promote the new engineered breed of millet. While it may be true that the new breed is rich in Vitamin A, the author does not make a cogent case to convince the reader why the citizens of Tagus would readily adopt it. The author's argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to convince the government to increase its efforts to promote the new type of grain.

One of the major assumptions made here is that the introduction of the engineered millet grain is the only solution to the deficiency. Despite admitting the fact that the millet costs more, the author has not mentioned other possible solutions of overcoming the Vitamin A deficiency. The question which needs to be asked is whether the new grain is actually rich in Vitamin A. Even if it is so, the author has failed to provide evidence. He/she could have provided lab results showing the content of Vitamin A in the new type and what other beneficial nutrients it can provide apart from the deficient vitamin and these grains would not have any side effects and people need not be skeptical about consuming it. All the above information could have been produced by the author to bolster his/her claim.

The author implies that the seeds will cost more and the government would provide subsidies for farming it. But again he/she has not supported this claim. It may be true that the grains might cost more but has the government really acknowledged the fact it is going to cost the farmers more and is actually ready to provide subsidies. There isn't any proof that says the government has declared that it will be surely providing subsidies to the farmers. Additionally, another question which needs to be answered is : Whether the new grain suitable to grow in the fields of Tagus? There is also a possibility that the new grain might not even grow in the fields of Tagus. The optimum conditions for growing the crop should also be discussed. To strengthen his/her argument the author would benefit if he/she gathers more facts and provides more information about the crops and subsidies.

Another major supposition made by the author is that the people of Tagus would readily accept the new variety of millet. This claim is baseless has to be made after conducting some research using some sample millets cultivated by the development organisation. If the survey/research has a positive outcome then it can be made sure that the people would readily adopt it. Just because it is staple food of Tagus it doesn't mean people would welcome any new variety. There is a chance that they might have been accustomed to the old one and reject the new one. The author does not come up with concrete evidence to buttress his claims.

The litany of unsupported assumptions and dearth of evidence seriously jeopardizes the certainty of the conclusion. Although the author is concerned about the deficiency he/she does not come up with sufficient information thus making his argument weak which is most unlikely to persuade the government to increase its efforts to promote the new millet.