An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument concludes that the government of Tagus should patronize the promotion of a new breed of millet to fight against the deficiency of vitamin A. To buttress the conclusion, the author has cited evidence that Millet is a potential source with high percentage of vitamin A, farmers can get subsidies to farm the new breed and people are likely to be adopted with new one as their vitamin A substitutes. Although the claim is seemingly plausible, however, the argument is flawed with some unwarranted assumptions. To strengthen the claim, the author must need to clarify some questions with authentic evidence.

To begin, the author needs to clarify that what the origin of the international development organization is. Does it have any certification as an development organization? Moreover, the organization states that the new breed of millet is having a high percentage of vitamin A. But, there is no authentic information regarding this. The author needs to evaluate that whether the new breed is actually a good source of vitamin A.

Secondly, the author surmises the assumption that the new breed of millet is the only candidate to act against the vitamin A deficiency. However, this is not necessairly true. there may be some other candidates, so the author needs to evaluate with proper information that millet is the only one candiate

Thirdly, the author should clarify that who is going to provide subsidy to the farmers. As it is said that new type of millet will cost more, so it is necessary to have subsidy. However, if there is no potential candidate to subsidize the farmers then the production of new millet might be deterred.

Finally, the author must evaluate that how people of Tagus adopt the new breed of millet. Admittedly, the millet is a staple one in Tagus, but, that does not mean that new breed of millet will be welcomed equally by them. Unless providing the evidence that explicitly inform us why people will adopt the new breed as like as previous ones, the argument is flawed and open to debate.

To sum up, the above discussion depicts that the author needs to clarify i) the authenticity of the organization and validity of its statement, ii) who will provide subsidy to the farmers to farm the new breed of millet, and iii) why people will readily adopt the new one to evaluate the argument. In the absence of the evidence in support of these clarifications, the claim is susceptible to criticism.