An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This argument, while it could make sense, contains many generalizations and exaggerations that weaken the argument.

The author mentions a vitamin A deficiency but does not mention how severe the deficiency is nor states who makes this claim of deficiency, making it unclear how urgent the deficiency is or how credible such a claim is. By answering these questions, the author would be able to assert the deficiency's urgency and need to be addressed.

The author also jumps to the conclusion that people will adopt the new variety of millet despite its higher cost due to subsidies and it already being a staple food. The author, however, does not go into depth about the numbers of the new millet costing more as well as how much the subsidies are, making it unclear if the subsidies are able to offset the increased costs and justify use of the new millet economically. When claiming that people will adopt the new millet because millet is a staple food, the author fails to detail other factors of the new millet outside of cost, such as taste and cooking chemistry. Without more information about the new millet, the author's assumption that people will adopt the new millet is unjustified. If the author were able to detail the monetary factors of the new millet, they could promote the new millet from an economic standpoint. If the author were also able to demonstrate that the new millet has same, similar, or better attributes than the millet currently used, they could make a justified guess that people would adopt the new millet.

The author also suggests that the government should do everything possible to promote this new type of millet and combat the vitamin A deficiency. Assuming that the author would be able to assert the deficiency's urgency and make the economic and utility case for the millet mentioned earlier, these corrections would be able to confirm the need to combat the deficiency with the new millet. The author, however, still makes an extreme claim in saying that the government should do everything it can to promote the millet. For this to occur, the author need to demonstrate that the government has no other issues to address, or the vitamin A deficiency would have to be much more severe than any other issue facing the government. Although such a scenario is extremely improbable and almost laughable, such a justification would be able to support the current claim that the government should do everything it can to promote the new millet.

With such corrections, the author would be able to bolster their argument that the new type of millet should be promoted to tackle the stated vitamin A deficiency.