An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author states that an international organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A and wants the government to promote it because he believes the people will readily adopt it. A number of questions need to be answered before this recommendation can be taken.

Firstly, the author states that the nation of Tagus is impoverished but offers no insight into the cause of the impoverishment. He bases it solely on the deficiency of Vitamin A but offers no follow up facts to buttress this point. The impoverishment could be due to lack of other nutrients such as Vitamin D, K etc. It could also be due to economic stagnation. Therefore, the cause of the impoverishment is required.

Secondly, assuming the the author is right about the cause of the poverty , he/she also states that the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming this variety of millet but offers no information to the number of people engaging in farming in Tagus. It is possible that the nation does not have enough farmers and barely providing incentives such as subsidies, will not produce the desired outcome.

The author also infers that because millet is a stable food in Tagus, that the people will readily adopt the new variety. Based on this assumption, no information supporting this assertion is provided. There could also be other staple foods present in Tagus, such as beans, rice etc. The consumption rates of these alternatives could be higher than that of millet and may not subsequently mean the people of Tagus would rush for the new variety.

Fourthly, it isn't stated if there are any side effects of this new variety of millet. Since it was not grown naturally, empirical information of the effects of this new breed on humans is needed before government can take such a decisive act as promoting the new variety of millet.

Finally, the author may actually have merits to his claim that there is an actual deficiency of Vitamin A in Tagus and the best way to solve it, is for the government to promote this new variety. But until all the questions are answered, it will be difficult to accept such a position taken by the author.