An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The representative of international development organization claims that, In order to combat Vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus government should do everything in power to promote the production and consumption of millet which is high in Vitamin A without providing any necessary data and evidence to prove its position and conclusion. Representative revels several instances of poor reasoning and fails to mention several key factors that would have helped to evaluate to argument.

The representative readily claims that people of Tagus are deficient on Vitamin A and newly breed millet's are high in Vitamin A without providing necessary evidence to prove this claim. If the millet's are high in Vitamin A than how much percentage is it high compare to non breed millet. Also they haven't mentioned the amount of deficiency people of Tagus have. There could be instance that deficiency is 50 percent while modified millet only reduces the deficiency level by 60 percent or worse 52 percent. If this is the case than promoting the modified millet wont help with the main agenda to overcome deficiency of vitamin a among people.

Furthermore, cost of the seed is not mentioned this could be major factor to evaluate the argument, If the price of newly breed millet were to be too high it wont worth subsiding the farming and invest hefty amount in promoting the consumption and promotion of this new millet instead we can recommend Vitamin A Supplemental medication which is cheap and easily accessible in nearby pharmacy shops.

Finally, Just because millet's are staple in Tagus diet doesn't ensures that the consumption of newly breed millet will be high or people will readily include newly breed millet various factors depends on it and more data is required about millet's like similarity in taste,texture and cost.

In conclusion the representative argument is not concise and haven't provided necessary data.To strengthen the argument he must Provide cost associated with production,how much vitamin a millet have and does if fulfills the dietary requirement