An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation by international development organization, in response to vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus is to use new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While it does seem like a good approach to battle vitamin A deficiency, we need to have an understanding of a few things in order to predict the effectiveness of this approach.

To encourage farmers to farm this type of millet which costs more than the traditional type, farmers will be paid subsidies but we need to find whether the total cost to farm the new variety after considering subsidies is still more or less compared to earlier. We would need an answer to this to predict the results of this approach because if the total cost is still more the farmers will not be ready to adopt this new variety considering the total cost.

We would also need to compare the yield of this new variant and how difficult is it to grow this new variety and how resistant is it to various environmental changes compared to the existing ones. Farmers will not be ready to adopt something new if that provides them with less earnings, if that is difficult to grow and if there is risk of decreased yield due to changing environment.

Another factor we need to consider before proposing this new variety to overcome Vitamin A deficiency is the percentage of people that intake millets as part of their diet regularly. If the percentage of people that consume millets is less, then only a fraction of total population will overcome Vitamin deficiency but not the whole nation.

These are some of the important things which we need to consider to predict the effectiveness of this approach in overcoming Vitamin A deficiency. After these questions are answered we can know more precisely if this idea is can potentially help combatting the problem.