“Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly,’ which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise.”

In the application, the author concludes that the new jazz music club in Monroe will be a highly profitable venture. The author comes to this conclusion based on several contentions and a recent nationwide survey. While the author’s contention could be true, some explanations need to be considered.

First of all the author assumes that Jazz is extremely popular in Monroe as more than 1,00,000 people attended Monroe’s annual fest. Perhaps the population of Monroe is less than 1,00,000 and people from different parts of the country attended the fest. In this case, people from other regions are present in the majority of 1,00,000 people. In addition, it is possible that some celebrities were present at the concert and many people attended the concerts only for the celebrities and not for the love of Jazz. Also, another scenario at play here could be that due to holidays or festive season many people would have a lot of free time so they attended the concert. If any of the above scenarios is true then the author’s contention is significantly weakened.

Also, the explanation that could reduce the credibility of the author’s argument is that the nearest Jazz club is over an hour away. Many people like driving long distances. It is quite possible that residents of Monroe would enjoy driving to the nightclub even though it is an hour away. Maybe Monroe has public transport readily available which facilitates long-distance travel. If that proves to be the case then, the author’s argument is not overly compelling.

Finally, another possibility that would hinder the persuasiveness of the argument is that the survey indicates that a typical jazz fan in Monroe spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. Perhaps most citizens in Monroe like all kinds of music, not only Jazz so they might be less inclined in spending around $1000 on jazz entertainment only. In addition to that considering the average financial conditions, it might not be feasible for the majority of Monroe residents to afford to pay $1000 for Jazz entertainment. If any of the above cases are true then the author’s argument does not hold any water.

To conclude although the central claim of the argument may hold water, indicating a possibility that certain factors would make the new Jazz club venture profitable the author needs to consider the above three alternate explanations if he hopes to bolster its persuasiveness. The author should provide evidence regarding the arguments presented.