In the last 10 years, the number of patrons to the local library has decreased by a factor of 5, while during that time the number of purchases of electronic books has increased by a factor of 10. The director of the library believes that the cause of the decrease in patrons is due to the library not advertising as effectively as do online merchants that sell electronic books. Therefore, the library should double the amount of money that it spends on advertising, so that more patrons will frequent the library.

The argument made by the passage has a lot of holes in it since several questions remain unanswered. The passage makes no mention of surveys on why people have stopped going to the library, and assumes they have stopped going due to ineffective advertising from the library. It mentions the library's director, but gives no indication that he or she is a reliable authority or was quoted correctly. It also assumes that increased spending on advertising will increase the effectiveness of advertising, which is not at all guaranteed.

People stop going to libraries for many different reasons. Many former patrons may prefer to buy e-books rather than borrow books. If that were the case, then the cause of the library's problem would not be one of advertising, but one of adapting to patrons' preferences. In that case increased spending on advertising would be a waste of money.

The author of the passage bases his argument on the fact that the director of the library said that the cause of the decrease in number of patrons is due to ineffective advertising. Though the director of the library is expected to be a reliable authority on the library's problems, there is no guarantee of that expectation being realistic. The advent of e-books has brought about a new age, one with which the director of the library may be unfamiliar. Even if the director is familiar with this new age and did mention something about ineffective advertising, there's the chance that the director was misquoted and he or she really meant to say that ineffective advertising is a cause or a possible cause. If the director was unfamiliar with e-books or was misquoted, then the passage has no support from an authority and is thoroughly weakened.

The passage also assumes that increased spending will automatically increase the quality of advertising. This has been proven false in many cases, one of which is GoDaddy's super bowl ad. GoDaddy spent hundreds of thousands to put a modified copy of Budweiser's puppy ad on the super bowl jumbotron, but since the audience found the ad's content morally repugnant, GoDaddy ended up becoming well known for the wrong reason. Similarly, the library's increased spending has no guarantee of increasing advertising effectiveness.

The passage may have some merit if the director is a reliable authority. Suppose ineffective advertising really is the root cause of patrons leaving, and suppose the library has a concrete, fool-proof plan on increasing spending to boost advertising effectiveness. Even under these ideal conditions, we run into the problem of state funding. Most libraries are funded by the state, and thus are financially dependent. Financially dependent entities do not have as much autonomy in deciding where and how much to spend. The library may want to spend more on advertising, but if the state says no, there's little the library can do. The author's argument would thus be strongly enhanced if it included surveys on why patrons leave, proof of the director's credibility, reassurance that the library has a good plan for spending on advertising, and proof that the state would agree.