High schools should require all of their students to play a musical instrument.

High schools should not require all of their students to play a musical instrument. Their good intentions of using music to enhance brain function can be done through other activities. There is no one size fits all activity that will benefit everybody. The purpose of high school is to guide and not to prescribe, so high schools should refrain from trying to require something that has so far been an extracurricular activity.

Though studies show that music enhances brain function, there are plenty of other activities that do the same thing. Music has Mozart and Einstein, but chess also has its share of great minds such as Paul Morphy and Garry Kasparov. Sports has Muhammed Ali. The list of activities goes on and on, and there are studies for each of them that boast of their enhancements of brain function. Why have music as a requirement when there are so many activities that do the same thing? One should allow the students to choose for themselves.

It's commonly accepted that people have several different ways of learning. Some people learn visually, while others are auditory learners. Altogether there are at least six different learning styles. If something as simple as how the brain processes information can have so much variation, then how can anyone say that a certain activity (which requires several parts of the brain) can be beneficial for everybody, or even the majority of people? There's a saying that the road to hell is paved with good intentions. If music rails against some people's learning style, the requirement may well backfire.

Finally, the purpose of high school has traditionally been to guide the student into the track that he or she will take in college or in a career. This purpose has support in the greater freedom that students have in choosing high school courses compared to choosing middle school courses. To require music would be a prescriptive measure, and would be wholly against the freedom and infrastructure in place at high schools to ensure that students can explore and find their place in this world.

High schools should not attempt to prescribe an activity such as music for enhancing brain function. The activities that are right for a student depend on the characteristics of that student, and high schools should stick with their purpose of guiding the student to discover him or herself.