Public secondary school students should be required to pass a standardized national exit exam in order to receive a high school diploma

The topic tells us that public school students should be required to appear a standardized national exit exam in order to receive school diploma, the statement itself is much clear that all students should give the “standardized” exam regardless their stream of preference for high school diploma.

I agree that exams are important so as to test the student’s capability, as well as how much he/she has understood. It also checks that how much a student is able to comprehend in every subject. It is not necessary that every student will be able to score well in each and every subject, there might be students who would be good in specific part of science i.e., physics, chemistry, biology. Some might be better in mathematics, social studies, etc. Some might not be good in academics but maybe they are good in sports and other co-curricular activities.

The standardized national exit exam should be an exam that covers almost something from every field. Otherwise, it would be biased for the students who have interest in particular field. For Example, a student interested in literature has to give the standardized national exit exam which includes topics from Science and Mathematics, its unfair to him because this exam is not worthy for his future has his interest doesn’t lie in those fields. The national exit exam should be able to retrospect student’s caliber on the basis of their interests not on the basis of the education department of the government.

However, there are some students who are confused which field to pursue in future and if the exam helps them clarifying their doubt, then it would be really benefit the student. The national exit exam can also be beneficial for the students to get admission for high school diploma. For example, if a student is very clever in a particular subject and is poor in some other subject, the national exit exam might be beneficial for him to get an admission for high school diploma, without his poor subject hindering in his way.

Hence, a standardized national exit exam has its own pros and cons but if it is well planned by taking into consideration of the interest of the students, then it can also prove itself very beneficial. It can also enhance the educational system to some extent as the old educational system tries to focus on every subject without the acknowledgement of student’s interest and used to affect their career. But with this exam it might lessen the burden from students of focusing on all subjects rather than the subject they are actually interested in.