Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The argument concludes that, Swift Nutrition serves meals that the students do not enjoy and there will be serious health consequencies for Kensington students if Swift vendor is not changed. The reasoning on this is logically flawed, however, because there are a lot of assumptions based on the biased number of reports gotten which appear to be invalid.

To begin with, the parent states that Swift Nutrition serves low-fat, low-calorie meals which are healthy meals. It is possible that the students prefer to eat fatty foods and high calorie meals, but this does not make the meals healthy. The intent of Kensington Academy was to cause students to eat healthier foods, it did not clearly state that the students have to like it or not. Although it will be more valued if the students like it.

Yet another problem with this argument is that the parent is giving a myopic view about the meals. There was no statistical data of the percentage of the students that do not like the meals. The parent's assumption was based on his or her son and friends' perception of the meals. It could be that the students are not used to those particular meals and they just did not like it, so they could not find the meals enjoyable.

Furthermore, the parent assummed that the healthy meals will cause serious healthy consequences for the students. I believe this statement is in the negative, that is, it will affect their health. It does not seem plausible that healthy meals can affect the health, that being said, it still does not ascertain the impossibilites. The healthy meals may affect students who find it difficult to adjust to new foods. There is a general believe that healthy foods do not contain so much allergies, so these meals may not have much effect on students who have allergies.

In conclusion, because the argument makes several assumptions that can not be proved statistically, tgo strengthen the argument, the school should consider giving out questionnaires to the students about the meal and the vendor to be able to verify if the problem is from the meals or the vendors or perhaps, there is no problem at all. Without this evidence, the conclusion of the argument reamins invalid.