Today’s world offers many ways to learn; reading books is no longer necessary to become a well-educated person.

A well-educated person has been termed to be an erudite, one who is knowledgeable and vast. For centuries, knowledge has been acquired from reading books before the advancement of technology. Although, knowledge was also acquired by tale telling. In today’s world, there are new means to acquiring knowledge asides reading books which are; watching videos on the internet, listening to podcasts and perhaps reading news contents on the internet. Some argue that reading books is not necessary in today’s world with the new development of acquiring knowledge, but that cannot be explicitly stated.

Books serve as a reliable means of storing information and for passing down information from one generation to another. It is no doubt that some of the information we have on the internet were curled from history books. Historical events have been documented in books and have been translated in different languages in the world. One can easily learn about the world’s history by reading the books. For instance, the Holy Bible and Quran contain information that have been passed on, the documentation of these events was possible because, those who documented the events saw the essence of reading books.

Furthermore, some information accessed on other platforms as afore mentioned were curled from information documented in books. I concede with the speaker’s threshold that there are several ways to learn and become well-educated other than reading books. In a situation where one has physical challenges such as bad eyesight and cannot read, the person can learn from listening to podcasts and where one can not read, the person has a privilege of watching videos and listening to podcasts.

In conclusion, reading books to be educated cannot be de-emphasized. It is an essential means of learning, but it is advisable to use other means of learning asides reading books depending on the situation surrounding a person or a group of persons.