Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent During the same year Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space mo

In this article, the author tries to use the data of the students who take education in Omni University and that in Humana University to indicate that online education system is the way to address problems in Humana University. However, before we come to the conclusion, there are some questions need to answer.

Firstly, the author shows that the number of students who take online degree programs increased by 50 percent in Omni University last year. The author wants to imply that the establishment of online education helps Omni University increase its total enrollment and such program will also help Humana University. However, we need to answer the question about whether the total enrollment in Omni University increased or not last year. In the article, the author only shows the increased percentage of online education. If total enrollment in Omni University really increased last year, then such advice may be useful. Otherwise, if the offline enrollment in Omni University decreased more than the increased number of online programs, then the online degree program may not help Humana University improve itself.

Secondly, the author refers that the expenditures for dormitory and classroom decreased from prior years. Although the author tries to prove that the online education takes place the offline instruction and help Omni University save more money, we need to ask if such decrease is caused by the increase of online programs. If the decrease in expenditure is caused by changing the location of dormitory and classroom in other region, or the welfare from government education system, then we can't make sure if the online education will help university save money.

Finally, even if total enrollment increased and more money is saved due to the online education in Omni University, we can't go to the conclusion that such movements will also benefit Humana University. There are many questions need to answer about the differences between two universities. For example, if the Omni University is more favored by students than Humana University, then Humana University may not get the similar increase of enrollment or save money.

In a conclusion, although the author shows some data of Omni University and tries to persuade us that Humana University will solve its problem by creating the online education program, we need to varify the questions above before taking actions.