Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

It has been a persistent question about whether to learn from those who have the same point of view with us or those who hold different opinions. Some people believe that sharing the same value is the basic requirement to learn, which will lead us to an effective communication and better understanding with each other. But from my point of view, the contradictory opinions may help us develop better.

To be honest, people who share the similar views will have a comfortable experience during the learning because they already have the same value in some general topics. For example, when members of the same party discussing different topics and policies, they can quickly understand what others are thinking about and realize the advantages from their different points, avoiding meaningless discussion about basic views or even truculent argument, since they already hold same value in this party.

Discussion with similar opinions, however, are not the majority situation around the world. When people deal with those who hold different ideas, they may feel kind of uncomfortable at first. But if we take more patience during the discussion and try to understand the topic in those opposite views, we will find that it is much more beneficial to learn from these opposite views. Take the United States as an example. During the Great Depression, the US suffered a lot from the free market economy. When president FDR came into power, he started to learn from the Soviet Union, whose economy is totally controlled by the government. Although the Soviet Union share almost none views with US, the US government still learn to take some policy to help the companies or even control them. After years of reform, the economy of US finally started to grow and recover from the crisis. The United States and the Soviet Union are totally different countries, but the development of economy is the same goal for both countries. Through the communication, the US learn to use government power to limit the market and develop the economy better than before. Disagreement will not prevent us from learning, in fact it will lead us to better performance.

In a conclusion, although learning from those who hold contradict views will cause stress or inhibit because of disagreement, there are much more benefits we can get than those similar views.