In the last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by candidate Miller. Subsequently, candidate Keating won the election by a narrow margin.

This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that in order to win this year's elections, candidate Miller must focus more upon the issue of preserving the natural environment. This statement was concluded by the author on the basis of the results of the previous year's election, where candidate Keating beat candidate Miller at the last moment when Keating chose to address and launch television advertisements about the issue of preserving the natural environment, a topic which was neglected by his opponent Miller. Although for this conclusion to be valid, the following assumptions and questions need to be evaluated.

Firstly, does the conclusion made by the author take into account the relevance of the same issue of environment conservation for this year? There might be a possibility that the burning issues that require attention this year may be different from environment conservation like water conservation or spreading of a virus having deleterious effects on humans, pollution of the river which supplies the drinking water for town T, etc. Thus focusing on the same old issue which has been addressed in the previous year and if measures were already taken for it, then it may not grab attention or votes from the citizens of town T which in turn would not guarantee victory in this year's elections for town T. Thus if this assumption has any credit then the argument stated by the author is weakened.

Secondly, what if this year's opponent goes the extra length to ensure that no topics or concerns are left out while planning out his campaign? What if the opponent candidate is well prepared for addressing all issues that concern the people and yet are to be resolved? The previous year's election was won my Keating by focusing on the issue left out by the opposition which got him extra attention from the people and eventually their goodwill as well as their votes. So in such case this year merely focusing on the topic of environment conservation will prove to be futile which qualifies the author's conclusion.

Lastly, The author assumes that the audience for the campaigns will be the same. What if the citizens voting for the elections this year require focusing on issues other than just environment conservation? This would mean that the citizens would not be intrigued or swayed by Miller's increased coverage of the environment conservation topic. They might vote for the candidate that addresses the issues that concern them more this year. Thus this year's elections are largely contingent on the people comprising the voter's pool.

Thus simply assuming that just because people voted for the candidate who focused on the environment conservation topic won, would win this year too would be justified if the above questions are analysed and more proof is provided. The proofs would then help us evaluate the viability of the argument made by the author.