lowering working hours

The president of Alta Manufacturing Company proposes a reduction in the number of working hours by one hour. The suggestion comes from the fact that the company has experienced a 30% increase in the number of accidents compared to its neighbor, Panoply. The idea behind the president's proposal is that having the same working hours as Panoply company will also reduce the number of accidents by increasing the amount of sleep of the workers. The president's claim is dubious based on unjustified claims that reducing the working hours will mean an automatic increase in sleeping hours and that increasing the amount of sleep will reduce the number of accidents.

The president is of the view that reducing the number of working hours will reduce the rate of accidents. This claim is based on a comparison with Panoply Company, the neighbor which has a lower accident rate. Basing the claim on this alone isn't enough. The president is assuming that the lower accident rate is attributed to fewer work hours. What evidence is there to come to this assumption? Accidents in workplaces are caused by many factors. Faulty machines can be the cause. The lack of proper training of workers also increases the risk of accidents. One would also ask, are the safety measures the same between the companies? Some accidents are caused by a lack of proper safety measures. Perhaps Panoply company has more robust safety measures compared to Alta Manufacturing Company. To set the argument on a more sound footing, the president needs to demonstrate that factors such as safety measures and lack of training do not affect the rate of accidents, and that it's only the number of hours causing the higher rate of accidents.

Secondly, the president proposes the reduction of working hours to increase the sleeping hours of its workers. This suggestion seems unreasonable. One would ask how will the company ensure that the workers will use that extra hour to sleep? People do spend their time away from work differently; some use the time to visit friends and family or read books. In short, there is no guarantee that reducing the number of working hours will increase the number of hours of sleep. Unless there is a way to impose a rule and supervise the workers to make sure they use the extra hour to sleep, the proposal is not feasible. To validate the claim, the president needs to prove how the extra hour will be used for sleep.

In conclusion, the president's claims are based on unjustified claims that the amount of sleep is directly linked to the rate of accidents. The argument also rests on other unjustified assumptions that reducing the amount of working hours will reduce the rate of accidents. In order to substantiate the claims, the president needs to show that the higher amount of accidents is a result of an extra hour of work and that all other factors and working conditions are the same with the nearby Panoply Company.