Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

In the letter provided to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine, it is concluded that the organization should invest its resources in unmanned space flight. On the premise that Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. However, the author has arrived at this conclusion based on two assumptions that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the letter states that manned space flight is costly and dangerous as compared to unmanned space flight, in unmanned space travel, there is the possibility of a probe or satellite that has been launched to malfunction as this would render the launch to no avail and would need a relaunch this would lead to the cost for successfully launching almost double as there would not be an option to return with the damaged probe or satellite. However, when it comes to manned space there is a chance that the probe could be brought back and execute the deploying of the probe or satellite again successfully.

Secondly, unmanned space flight requires an additional artificial intelligence that can self-sustain in case of emergencies. It is not the case when it comes to manned space flight as there would be physical assistance that can be used to avoid the emergency and be safe, it is this self-sustainable artificial intelligence that is hard and costly to develop rather than hiring a few space travel and satellite repairing experts.

Lastly, the series of successes of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites have demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered, is the survey done viably? As compared to manned space flight is unmanned space flight less costly and more informative, the launches might have been compared without context, for instance, a manned flight to mars and an unmanned flight to the moon cannot be compared with each other. If this case is true the letter's suggestion to invest resources in unmanned space flight might not hold water.

In conclusion, it might not be good to invest in unmanned space flight. However, as it stands now the argument stands on three unreliable assumptions made by the author, for these assumptions to hold water the author needs more persuasive evidence the assumptions