Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Space flights, whether manned or unmanned, has always been costly. As such, the stated assumption that unmanned space flights may be the way to go is wrong and unwarranted. The technology involved in space travel was, is and will in the near future be always expensive. Having established this, it is important to note that for every new foray into a novel technology or engineering process, there will always exist a learning curve - a period for perfecting the new technology and essentially involves crossint Ts and dotting Is. I strongly believe these lessons from this particular learning point have been indelible and as such, allowances have been made for such.

There are limits of objective and achievement for unmanned space travels compared to manned flights. The bottom line is that such travel will still neccessitate being manned, to an extent. The international space station, a collaborative venture is always manned, albeit by individuals of varying nationalities, but manned all thesame.

Specific chores and tasks cannot be achieved by robots and other products of artificial intelligence(AI), no matter the gains of AI and robotics.

Also, the opinion in the letter does not factor in the psychological triumph accompanying being able to escape the confines of the earth's gravititational field and into space. The history of humans has always been indelibly interwoven with the history of the earth, they are not mutually exclusive. But by adding the history of humans outside the confines of the earth, which includes habitations in space, we have expanded our horizon. It imparts a sense of pride on the human race, nevermind a particular nationality ( the space race of the 60s and 70s, Sputnik and the Kennedy ultimatum to NASA comes to mind).

Also, success is a subjective definition as far as space travel is concerned. I give you the Cassini venture to Pluto as an example, one of the main objectives of this space flight is to explore the atmosphere of Pluto, take visuals and send to earth, after which the whole contraption will then self-destruct - it was always designed as a one-way mission. A one-way, wildcat travel into space does not require being manned. But this has paved the way for subsequent flights to thesame destination that can be exploratory and manned because of the knowledge gains from the previous unmanned foray.

Conclusively, there will always be risks to human lives for every human venture, this should not serve as deterrence to expanding man's horizon in the universe