Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

While it may be true that the cow flue vaccine may be fatal in some cases, the author does not make a pellucid case regarding the administration of the vaccinations. The paragraph bases it's argument on the 'small possiblity' of fatality and while it may be true, the argument is rife with holes and does not make a cogent argument as to why the flu should not be administered routinely.

The paragraph states that many lives may be saved if the cow flu innoculations were routinely administered to the people in the disease prevalent area. Nowhere is it mentioned that on what basis did the author make this assumption. There is no survey or no experimental results mentioned. It is likely that the statement is conjecture and there is no physical evidence to prove it. If there was evidence to prove that a test group of subjects were inoculated against the cow flu and all of them survived, then it is likely that the inoculation may work on a large scale. But as there is no such evidence, we cannot conclude the efficaciousness of the inoculations.

The author mentions that the inoculations are to be given to all the people in the disease affected region. There is no evidence to support why would all the people in the region require inoculation. It is likely that a small group of people are naturally immune to the disease and thus introducing their body to the foreign pathogen in the form of an inoculation will be a waste. Also the author talks about routine administration of the inoculation. While it may be true, that the routine inoculation of the people is necessary, it is likely that such inoculations may lead to further succeptibility to the disease.

The paragraph goes on to state that there may be a small possiblity of fatality due to the inoculations and while this may be true, there is no evidence to support it. It is possible that during their test phase, they administered it to a person who was already infected with the disease and it only further aggravated the disease and lead to the person's death. There is no evidence to support the fatal nature of the inoculation and even if there was a test where they found such results, we do not know the scope and legiblity of the test. It is likely that they conducted the test on only a group of 10 people and extrapolated the results to the entire population. It is also possible that the test was on patients who were already affected, in which case the test results would be moot. We just do not know.

Based on the examination of the above factors, it is clear that the paragraph is rife with holes and unstated assumptions. While the author's statements may be true, it is unlikely to convince anyone to take the steps mentioned by the author. Further evidence is required to clearly explore the reaches of the argument.