Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented seeks to sanction the routine administration of inoculations because of the small possibility of death that exists when the inoculation is routinely administered. To strengthen this argument evidence must be presented to prove that there are alternatives that are not just safer but also as effective as the routine administration inoculations, one would also have to ascertain if the inoculations could be administered in a way that is less routine and safer and also possess an even smaller possibility of death or even no deaths at all. Even if alternatives to the inoculations are provided, there would have to be proof to show that such alternatives are not pernicious those its being administered to and that the externalities caused by the execution of such alternatives pale in comparison to the small possibility of death as a result of the inoculation.

Another assumption that the arguments holds is that many lives may be saved if the inoculations are administered routinely, going by the first statement. One could infer from this statement that people are either dying in large numbers or theres a threat of many lives being lost in the current status quo. Therefore this becomes a case of cost vs benefits, if no other alternative has been provided against the cow flu then the argument is severly weakened as the only option would then be to allow many more lives die as a result of the small probability of death. Even if it is proven that a small number of people die as a result of the innoculations one would also have to consider the opportunity cost of not doing anything at all, as the probability of dyimng without the inoculations is significantly higher. However, before assuming this possition evidence would have to be provided to ascertain the chances of death without the innoculations, if indeed many lives will be lost witghout the inoculations than the argument is weakened.

One would oalso have to look into the efficacy of the inoculaytions would many lives be saved if indeed the inoculations were routinely administered to all, the potency of the inoculations to kick against cow flu would have to be presented as well as evidnece showing how such process has led to favourable outcomes in the past and how it may lead to similar outcomes moving forward.Furthermore, as a results of the deaths or the likely deaths caused by this flu, the argument does not adequately justify the choice not to permit the inoculations, as this is a situation where lives are or will be lost, a position of doing nothing at all cannot be taken. There has to be either evidence signalling a better solution to the quandary or one that brings more assurance that such areas may be eradicated or the disease in one way or the other would be eradicated. the recommendation given is one that is not progressive and poorly justified given the gravity of the issue at hand.