Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that providing people with regular doses of cow flu vaccine will help to save many lives, however this is not possible as some people die from inoculation. This argument is not convincing enough as it lacks important evidence about the credibility of so called facts presented.

Firstly, author needs to provide the evidence of the effectiveness of the vaccine against cow flu. There is no statistical data or opinion from doctors or scientists regarding the extent to which vaccine is capable of preventing the cow flu. What if the vaccine works against cow flu for only 2 people among 1000 people? Without analyzing this, the author posits that it is possible to save many lives if vaccine is given. If the data suggests that the vaccine is not very useful in safeguarding from cow flu, the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, author assumes that, cow flu is the major cause of death of people in some areas but fails to provide some sort of evidence which supports his assumption. There are many reasons why people die. Moreover, data about dead people such as age when they died, any co-morbidities if they had etc. This data is very useful to draw a pattern and come to conclusion about prevalent cause of death in that area. What if the major portion of dead people are only children under the age of 10 who were suffering from malnutrition? This scenario undermines the author's argument.

Lastly, there is no proof that the adverse effects of the vaccine are real. It could be possible that, people are dying because of improper way of inoculation or lack of proper after care or laxity of doctors. The author overlooks all these possibilities and jumps to the conclusion very quickly. Moreover, there is no mention of negative effects of vaccine from the official source which is developing the vaccines. Author should provide evidence to overcome these mentioned possibilities.

To conclude, because of aforementioned reasons, the author fails to present a cogent argument for audience. If, the author were to provide proof of efficacy of vaccine and data about the number of deaths occurring because of the inoculations, the argument can be evaluated correctly. Otherwise, author's argument should be taken with a grain of salt.