Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument states that due to a slight possibility of fatalities linked with the cow flu inoculations, the very idea of providing the inoculation cannot be permited. But before this argument is taken into effect, there needs to be specific evidence provided related to multiple open questions, without which this argument cannot be evaluated thoroughly.

Firstly, important statistics are needed to understand the cow flu disease and its proliferation. It is just mentioned that many lives might be saved and there is a small chance of death. But these terms are vauge and do not help in analyzing the problem at hand. Evidence for number of people infected with the cow flu, the probability of the fatality, the detailed study of how this probability was calculated is pivotal in evaluating the argument. It might be possible that the potential beneficiaries of the inoculation is very large, but the chance of fatality is infinitismally small. If that is the case, the benefit achieved by taking the prescribed vaccine outweighs its demerits and the idea of it being regularly administered to the people should be taken forward.

Secondly, there is not evidence provided for the reasons why the mentioned deaths might occour. There is an assumption made that there is a direct corelation between the vaccine and its patient's death. But this might not be the case in relaity. It might be possible that the fatalities can be caused due to some other reason. Maybe the patient taking the inoculation might have some othe disease or ailments and this is creating a detrimental compounding effect on his or her health. Further, this slight possiblity evaluated might just be an outlier or error in calculation. Hence, without detailed, specfic evidence of the study executed from which this small chance of death was engendered, the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, it is also mentioned that there is no permit given to provide the cow flu inoculations routinely, but there is no specific mention of this routine. It may be possible that this routine is the main cause of all the problems. For example, the ideal routine or schedule for taking the vaccine might be say 3 months, but this is not being effected in reality. It might be possible that the small fraction of deaths might have happened if the schedule at which the inoculation was meant to be administered, was not as per defined standards. If true, this particular case would just serve as an outlier or anomaly in the study and can be erradicated with further analysis and deliberation.

Therefore in conclusion, there is a major lack of evidence provided in the prompt, which is paramount in evaluating the argument and without which the argument as it stands appears weak.