Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a way, this is a modified version of the moral dilemma called 'The Trolley Problem'. In the Trolley Problem, you assume a scenario where a trolley is running down a track with five people stuck on the track ahead and the trolley will run over them killing all five of them. However there is a catch, you have a lever with you which when pulled directs the trolley to a different track with 1 person stuck on it, and will result in only 1 death. The moral dilemma comes as to whether it is better to let the 5 people die without doing anything or specifically cause the trolley to deviate to a different track and cause the death of one person. I think the issue of inoculations which save most people but result in fewer deaths is analogous to this trolley problem.

Now let's break down the problem a bit, to properly understand what kind of evidence is required to make an opinion. Firstly, we have to properly quantify as to what this 'small possibility' denotes. How small of a possibility it is, and how many deaths at most it will cause by administering the dose to that general population. Once this estimate is obtained, we try to compare it with the deaths that will occur if no inoculation is performed, meaning cow flu will take the toll on lives. In most scenarios, the number in the latter would be higher. If it is not, then there is no point in performing the inoculations as that results in many more deaths, however in our case, the opposite is true and that the deaths due to inoculation are much fewer than without immunization. This leads us to a similar moral dilemma as presented above. Is it better to actively try to do something which will result in a few but guilty deaths, or is it better for us to do nothing and let nature take its course?

A life cannot be labeled a price tag, life is priceless. However, while comparing such moral scenarios, it feels natural to go into scenarios leading to the least amount of deaths. Even though the deaths are because of something we do, because of the small possibility of the inoculation being fatal, we end up saving so many more lives. Now is it fair for the person who will end up dying due to this fault? No, absolutely not, in an ideal world, the inoculations will be perfect with no possibility for complications but the real world tends to be far from ideal. The argument states that the inoculations can't be permitted to be routinely administered because of a small chance of death. However, not administering that causes the person to gain a lifelong of possibilities of ending up getting infected leading to their demise. I'd argue that not doing these inoculations ends up being just as guilty as doing the inoculations and ending up with someone dead from the complications. Just the difference being the latter has lesser deaths than the previous counterpart.

Not related to cow flu, however in the recent Covid-19 pandemic we saw this play out, groups and localities of people who were not vaccinated were in hospitals and dying at a nightmarishly higher rate than the vaccinated groups. Also another benefit to inoculations is that after a point, herd immunity is achieved. Herd immunity is a concept where most of the community is immunized leading to a less chance for the unimmunized to catch the disease. This is good because even if the inoculations are mandated, there will be some outliers who will do whatever it takes to bypass or skip the immunization. Even these individuals due to herd immunity will face a lesser risk throughout their lives, which as a society is what you call a win-win situation.

So in short, I do believe these inoculations should be routinely administered, because in the end less deaths is better than more deaths.