Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The text treats the issue of when it makes sense to take precautions to a disease and when not. It is a question of balancing the interest of a community, the health and freedom of an individual and has often been discussed during the covid pandemic.

In the text there are mentioned two possibilities: routinely inoculation against cow flu or no inoculation against cow flu. I think there are two more options not mentioned by the the text: voluntary inoculation (meaning that everybody gets the chance to is inoculated against cow flu but does not have to) and inoculation of people with higher risks of dying (for example elder or ill people).

However, a decision between those options is not possible without data.

At first one needs data of how many people have cow flu and how many die caused by cow flu. By this the death rate can be calculated. A high death rate should lead to an inoculation of everybody while a low death rate is a reason for not routinely administering inoculations against cow flu.

Additionally this death rate needs to be further analyzed. It is important that possibly groups are detected in which the death rate is significantely higher than in others. Those groups should be treated differently and rather receive inoculations against cow flu that fewer threatened people.

An other important aspect is how the disease evolves when it does not end with a death: How long do people suffer under cow flu and are there lifelong consequences of being infected? Which symptoms do they have? How many people have to go to hospital or at least see a doctor?

So, there are many questions which can only be answered with data. If a certain percentage of people infected by the cow flu have severe problems maybe even over several days and have to go to hospital this is also an indicator that inoculations against cow flu is routinely administered where the disease is detected. Thus, a potential inoculation should not only be dependent on the death rate but also on the hospitality rate and a rate how many people get severely ill by the cow flu.

In the end, another important thing is the possibility of inoculating against cow flu. How well are the structures in that area in order to routinely administer an inoculation? How much does an inoculation cost? And on the hand the questions how much people infeceted with cow flu cost the system by them needing medication and being not able to work. For example if a routinely administerd inoculation is relatively cheap in comparison to a lot of people suffering cow flu this is also an argument for inoculation.

In conlusion, let me say, there is a lot of data required in order to make a decision whether inoculations against cow flu should be administered routinely or not. However, it should be highlighted that there are not only those two options and that data might also indicate that only inoculation of certain groups or in certain regions is needed. A decision on such issues concerning people's life and health it is always important to make well thought of decisions which are based on quantitive data and science while not depending on ideologies.