Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Though the inoculations might be harmful to the people, the author's argument for rejecting the inoculation is flawed on many levels.

He rejects vaccination based on many unwarranted assumptions which are not true.

Firstly, there is no indication of what the 'small possibility' means. Does it mean that if it were administered to 100,000 people, 1 person will die or does it mean that 1 in 100 people will die if administered the vaccination? Without such information, there is no way to estimate the success rate of the inoculation. If it was the former, then, it makes sense to routinely administer the vaccination because more lives will be saved if they are protected against cow flu. But, if it has a high mortality rate, then, the people of the area will be better off not taking the inoculation. Thus, in order to make an informed decision, the author should provide more information about the success rate of the medicine and what is the fatality rate. Without this information, it is impossible to make any decision about whether the inoculation should be permitted or not.

Secondly, the author does not say what is the cause of death when vaccinated. There could be a variety of factors at play here and it is not black and white as the author assumes. For one, the cause of death could be due to genetic factors in which case there is nothing that could be done to prevent death. Even in such cases, it is possible to prevent fatality by not administering the vaccine to such people and warning them to stay indoors until the threat passes. But, apart from genetic factor, there could be other factors like dosage, how often will it be administered, etc. If dosage was the reason, then, area administration could consider reducing the dosage to reduce fatality. If the frequency of inoculation is the reason, they could try to reduce the frequency- all of which will help reduce fatality. Without a clear indication into the cause of death, there is no way to decide where the problem is. The author will benefit by providing a scientific analysis into the reason for death and the probability of its happening in the people of this area. If it is something that can be mitigated, then, necessary steps could be taken to avoid mortality and the vaccines could be administered.

Even if there is some fatality rate, no medical advancement is 100% safe. Even a routine surgery or cough syrups is known to kill people in rare cases. But, what matters in the end is that more people are saved than harmed if these continue to be used. Similarly, if it can be established that more people will be saved than killed by these inoculations, then, the vaccines should be adminsitered. To draw this conclusion, proper statistics should be pr

Thus, we see that the author's argument for rejecting the inoculations is flawed on many levels. Even if his/her decision might be correct, there is no way that it can be inferred from the argument provided by him. Thus, the area administration must not seriously consider the author's opinion and look more closely to decide whether to administer inoculation or not based on further studies.