Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Space flight, whether it is manned or unmanned has a certain degree of risk associated with it due to huge number of factors that play a role in a successful launch. That said, the author's opinion that further resources should be invested only in unmanned space flight due to costs and risks associated with manned flights is baseless and does not hold merit.

Firstly, the author states that manned space flights are expensive than unmanned flight. But, the author does not provide a number describing the difference in expenditure for both these flights. It is possible that manned flights are only slightly expensive than unmanned ones. It is also possible that if the research and development (R&D) costs of the sensors and imaging devices for unmanned flights are calculated, manned flights might be cheaper overall. Even if both R&D costs and launch costs of unmanned flight is lower than manned flight, there is a need for continuous input and monitoring of unmanned satellies and probes for many years which could increase the cost dramatically over the years. Thus, in order to reach a conclusion, additional information should be provided regarding the R&D costs of unmanned probes and satellites, the launch costs of both manned and unmanned space flights as well as the cost associated with maintaining the infrastructure to monitor the unmanned probes over its lifetime. Without this knowledge, no conclusion can be drawn about which is expensive.

Secondly, the author states that a great deal of useful information could be gathered from unmanned probes and satellites. But, he/she does not provide information about its accuracy and whether it is reliable. There is a chance that the signals from the satellite could be garbled due to interference from space which might change the results drastically. If the results are not trustworthy, even lower launch cost is not enough to justify unmanned flight over a manned flight. Also, there could be things that only a manned launch can provide the scientists. For example, if we consider the manned launch, only a human can bring back space soil and rock samples. These samples provide a huge insight into the formation of those extraterrestial objects and also into the origins of the universe. If a satellite were to provide this information, it will take several years to get the complete picture. Thus, in order to support a particular type of launch, the author will benefit by providing a scientific analysis into the abilites of satellites as well as its suitability for the particular mission. He/she needs to provide additional information about what the mission is and why the unmanned flights are better suited for such a task than manned flight. Without this, it is impossible to say which of these can provide better information.

Therefore, as we see, the author's argument in support of unmanned space flight is flawed on many levels and cannot be considered seriously to influence a critical decision like a space launch.