"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The author concludes that acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the easy reading course, To justify this conclusion the author notes that easy read speed course has greatly improved productivity. I find the argument logically unconvincing in several respects.

First of all, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the easy reading course, Is based upon the questionable assumption that there are a lot of benefits by easy read speed which greatly improves the productivity. It is entirely possible that the employees may not have a lot of benefits by improving easy read speed. Hence the author generalizes is unreliable

Secondly, the author assumes that there are a lot of benefits by easy read speed which greatly improves productivity. This assumption is unwarranted. It seems equally reasonable to assume that the employees who may not have a lot of benefits by improving easy read speed. hence it is presumption conclude that acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the easy reading course.

Finally, even if there are a lot of benefits by easy read speed which greatly improves productivity is true the argument ignores the possibility that the employees who may have a lot of benefits by improving easy read speed can false. This will lead to an easy reading course does not give any benefits

In sum, this argument is defective mainly because the easy read speed course has greatly improved productivity does not support the conclusion that acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the easy reading course. To strengthen the argument, The author must, at the very least, provide that there are a lot of benefits by easy read speed which greatly improves the productivity.